Sex Crimes

Statutory Rape

Statutory rape occurs where an adult over the age of 18 engages in sexual acts with a minor under the age of 18. Generally speaking, consent of the minor is not a defense to this crime. These charges can be sensitive because they may result from a loving and consensual relationship.

Still, in California, if there is only a 3 year age difference between the accused and the alleged victim, the crime is charged as a misdemeanor. If there is an age difference of 3 years or more, the crime may be charged as a felony or a misdemeanor. Finally if the age of the defendant is 21 or over and the alleged victim is under the age of 16, face either a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are charged with the misdemeanor you may be sentenced to a light sentence like probation. On the other hand, the felony charge can carry up to four years in state prison.

Because of the discretion that the prosecutor has in proceeding with a statutory rape case, it is important to be represented by a criminal defense attorney who is experienced in negotiation with prosecutors.


Contact the Firm

If you or someone you know is facing criminal charges in Los Angeles, or the areas we serve in the state of California, Contact a Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney today!